Can I Go to Jail for Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License in Maryland?
If you were pulled over for any reason, including speeding, running a red light, or suspicion of driving under the influence in Maryland, and were found operating a vehicle without a license, you may go directly to jail.
At Lotze Mosley, LLP, our Maryland criminal defense attorneys know that while a suspended license is a temporary punishment, and becomes a much larger legal problem when the person is caught driving when their license has been revoked.
What is the Difference Between a Suspended and Revoked License in Maryland?
There are several key differences between a suspended and revoked license in Maryland.
A suspended license:
- Temporarily out of service, for a known period
- Requires an end date, when fines and fees — or some other driver action — must be paid or completed to be reinstated
A revoked license:
- Has been fully cancelled and is not eligible for reinstatement without requesting approval from the Maryland MVA
- Requires full payment of tickets or fines
- Requires the driver to go through the complete Maryland licensing process again, including the written and road tests
In simple terms, a suspended license is bad news. A revoked license is terrible news.
What are the Most Common Reasons Licenses are Suspended or Revoked in Maryland?
There are many reasons your license can be suspended, including unpaid traffic tickets and court debts that have left a reported 11 million drivers nationwide without a license.
Other violations can lead to license suspensions or revocations as well, including:
- Failing to meet children support obligations
- Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Multiple speeding tickets
- Moving violations, including reckless driving
- Previous conviction for a serious traffic offense
- Driving without insurance
- Making a false statement on a driver’s license or car registration application form
- Too many points on your license during a certain period
What are the Consequences of Driving with a Suspended or Revoked License in Maryland?
Our criminal defense attorneys in Maryland know that each traffic violation case is unique, and so at the penalties.
Like any criminal charge, your criminal history, or the extenuating circumstances regarding the violation will play a role in the consequences.
The maximum penalty for a first offense conviction for driving on a revoked license in Maryland may include:
- A $1000 fine
- Up to 12 months in jail
- 12 additional points on your license
When your license is already revoked, an additional 12 points added to your record will make it increasingly difficult to get your license reinstated without an experienced Washington DUI attorney by your side.
A second offense may bring twice the penalties, including:
- A $2000 fine
- Up to 24 months in jail
If you are charged with reckless driving or a DUI while your license is suspended or revoked, the penalties can be even more severe.
If you have been arrested for driving on a suspended or revoked license in Washington D.C. or Maryland, contact our experienced criminal defense attorneys at Lotze Mosley, LLP today by calling (202) 393-0535 to discuss your case.